Office wear – How to look effortlessly smart

Dear Ladies,

Ever since I have started my full time job, I have started to wake up everyday with the same dilemma:
What am I gonna wear?!

Owning some key pieces can make your life easier and these can be reused in various outfits. In my experience, when working in an office you need to a few basics such as:

  • A few dresses
  • Tailored pants
  • Pencil Skirt
  • A few shirts
  • Court Shoes
  • Watch
  • A handbag that goes with everything!

I drew up outfits for everyday of the week just to give you an idea… As you can see, with basic key pieces you can look smart everyday.

 

Monday

Monday is the hardest, isn’t it? Start the week with a simple outfit. Choose a non-iron dress the day before and you’re good to go. Court shoes make you smart but with that in mind, I would look for the most comfortable pair of shoes possible. I got a chunkier heel with an orthopedic sole and it was the best choice I ever made when it comes to shoes. One of the hairstyles can always be the bun – makes you look tidy and is a good solution when you are in between washes.

Office wear - Monday

 

Tuesday

Investing in a pair of tailored pants is vital. They are so smart and rather versatile. In summer, trousers also a good idea for those few days before you get waxed. As for earrings, I like to keep it simple and tidy and for this I think stud earrings are the best choice.

Office wear - Tuesday

Wednesday

The pencil skirt is another staple if you work in an office (see what I did there? :P). All the shirts/tops you wear with the tailored pants can be then reused in outfits with a pencil skirt. The look would be completely different and a skirt gives a more feminine touch.

Office wear - Wednesday

Thursday

Once again I chose the tailored pants as they are the most comfortable in my opinion. Stuck with the stud earrings but played it up a little with a detailed collar top. A little pop of colour when including blue.

 

Office wear - Thursday

 

Friday

There are some days when you opt for ultimate comfort and ballerina shoes come in play. As for hairstyles, it is a good idea to change from day to day, keeping it simple not to take too long to get ready. A bun, a pony tail, braids and loose hair with accent accessories is the way to go.

Office wear - Friday

 

As for handbags, I only use one – I managed to find a 3-tone bag which (in my opinion) goes with everything. I wouldn’t suggest changing your bag everyday… Let’s just say that I’m too lazy to do it – But if you’re not, go ahead!

When it comes to colours, I kept it simple as these are more or less the colours we are allowed to wear since I work in front office. Depending on your job, you can play it up and be more adventurous with colours and patters.

These outfits have nothing out of the ordinary and these pieces can be found from any store at average prices. Coming to think of it, it’s not all that hard to choose what to wear to the office once you have the right numbers.

That’s all from my side… I hope you found this helpful and do let me know if you have any more tricks to always look smart at the place of work!

Love,
M.

Oh, and I always wear a watch, but that’s just me  🙂

2 comments on “Office wear – How to look effortlessly smart

  1. cjwaterfield says:

    Great I love those blue dresses but I never seem to find what Im looking for!

Leave a Reply

