The ‘Invisible’ Plastic Bra Straps

Hey there Ladies!

I feel so bad about not having written anything for a whole week. It’s been really hectic, working on my thesis and all. But I am back today… I woke up a bit sick so I had to stay home; at least I am getting back on track with my posts.

This week I asked a question on my Facebook Page:

Writing a post about plastic bra straps… what’s your opinion on them? love or hate?

To my surprise, the responses were mostly negative (which I was happy about by the way)! Some of you told me they look tacky, turn yellow or that they are plain ugly. Some expressed pure hatred to these ‘invisible’ straps. I will now tell you my opinion, but first, I am going to be cheeky and include a definition:
invisible definition

I think the definition says it all. If I can see it, then it is not invisible (read the definition again). In the case of bra straps, I would rather go for visible straps than try to hide something which still shows… That’s just my opinion. Just like failing to hide a spot on your forehead even though you caked up lots of concealer looks bad, so does trying to go for invisible straps when they do not really exist. It’s simple: if you want invisible, go strapless. I will now list 5 things… Things some of you ladies mentioned, thing which me and you both hate about these straps.

  1. The Material

    The plastic material is most of the time shiny and therefore more conspicuous. It’s like trying to fix something with transparent tape. It still shows, transparent does not mean invisible. The shiny plastic looks tacky and makes ladies who wear these straps look less classy than they really are. Do you think these are invisible? Would you ever wear these with a tube top?

    Source: iamfashion.blogspot.com

    The matte ones are a little bit more acceptable though, don’t you think?

    Better…

  2. The Texture

    The plastic is not really elastic like the other bra straps. Obviously, plastic straps can stretch, but more often than not, they also stretch out and are then longer than their original length. This makes the straps almost disposable and annoying, as by the end of the night, the weight of your bust could have made the straps a cm longer than you need them to be. It’s kinda like Stretch and Seal, but the plastic is stronger. ‘Invisible’ Straps stretch to a limit before they get ruined, kind of like this:

    Keep stretching – see what happens…

  3. The Colour / Discolouration

    I haven’t ever had problems with this myself. I have never used plastic straps long enough for them to discolour, not even in my teen years. Commonly, these straps turn yellow over time because of body odour and sweat. Yes, perspiration changes the colour of both white t-shirts and ‘invisible’ straps. Nice – not so very hygienic either then. Unfortunately this sometimes happens to all bra straps, not just plastic ones. But at least, if they are the conventional straps, a spin in the machine will ensure us that they are clean, even if they are discoloured. One more thing, plastic straps seems to pick up dead skin cells and dry skin from your shoulder area, which makes them look a little bit disgusting.

    The point of all this is: If I wanted yellow bra straps, I would have gotten yellow bra straps.
    I also like my straps to be clean.

  4. Not Comfortable

    If they are not comfortable, they are not for me. The first thing I look for in a bra is comfort. Whether it is a sexy bra or an everyday t-shirt bra, I need my bra to be as comfortable as possible. This can only be possible if your bra is in the right size, but more about that in another post.

    From what I hear, these straps tend to slip of your shoulders and there is nothing more annoying than having to stay putting your straps back in place every 2 minutes. They are also a bit harder to adjust than normal straps and to make sure that they don’t slip off, you have to make them shorter, which might make the back of your bra go up.

  5. NOT Sexy

    There is no nicer way to put it – I refuse to sugarcoat it: They are not sexy!
    Actually, most people will tell you that they are tacky and that they can look trashy. So, no.

    Go for a multiway bra with crossed straps for support

    They are not invisible, not sexy, not hygienic, they slip off your shoulders – and the best thing is: You have other options and alternatives. (Checkout the links in the captions if you want to get the bras in the pictures: All from ASOS – Some are on sale too)

    The Strapless Bra

    Wondrbra A-G cup Strapless Lace Bra http://bit.ly/12AUt1U


    The Multi-Way Bra

    Can be worn with or without straps, crossed straps, one strap for one shoulder dresses, or a halter strap.

    Ultimo Miracle D-G Strapless Multiway Bra  http://bit.ly/1bNCFYg

    The Tube Microfiber Bra

    Cheap Monday Tube Microfiber Bra http://bit.ly/12NT0Jc

    Colourful Bras
    Match them to the clothes you are wearing and no one will notice the straps!

    Calvin Klein Lace & Micro Plunge Bra http://bit.ly/122XfSM

    Pretty/Sexy Bras
    No one cares with a bra as beautiful as this one!

    Huit Mrs Wang Underwired Bra http://bit.ly/18s7rqD

    Be on the lookout as I will be writing more posts about bras, choosing the right one, getting properly fitted and so on.

All in all, I feel there are more negative things than pluses to these straps. I refuse to use them at all costs, what about you? Some people like wearing them under sleeveless dresses or sleeveless tops, which I think is ok, but I would just go for a normal bra. I’d wear a multi-way when I need it and a strapless with strapless dresses or spaghetti strap tops. There – problem solved!

What’s your take on these straps? Love/Hate? And why?
I’d love to know.

Love,
M.

28 comments on “The ‘Invisible’ Plastic Bra Straps

  1. lady.with.no.name says:

    Love this post mar.. I hate plastic bra straps as you know! And with so much strapless bra options, who the hell needs plastic straps? And yes, i much prefer having pretty bra straps showing if im going for a casual string vest top.
    Great work xx

  2. Fabulous post! I absolutely hate “invisible” straps! Who do they think they’re fooling? I love that you have included lots of style and size options. The common excuse of “invisible strap victims” is I am too big for a strapless bra. I personally feel if you won’t wear undergarments that are truly invisible, you should find something else to wear! Keep up the great posts!
    XO K

    • I do believe so too even though it might be a bit harsh. I mean, it’s not like there are only strapless clothes available. Really and truly, when I do not even feel like a strapless bra, I just wear something comfortable and a t-shirt bra.

  3. A great post. I don’t like those straps either. I use ordinary straps and try to fit the color with my tops, best possible. For party and so, If I need a strapless, I use one without straps at all. They are not difficult to find either. Thanks for sharing and the links too.
    Irene

  4. I don’t think I’ve worn clear bra straps since I was like 17. Once you’re a grown lady, you need to wise up!

  5. […] The ‘Invisible’ Plastic Bra Straps – whatever you feel about them, don’t be offended, this is just my opinion, but let’s just say that I feel very strongly about them. […]

  6. KaT & Kiddo says:

    I think its a really good post and I quite agree. I HATE the invisible straps. I prefer the multi-way one or the nice colored ones. And so what if they are visible with what you are wearing. The colorful ones look cute.

  7. The strapless have always been my most favorite of all.

  8. essentjewels says:

    The invisible strap bra is hideous.

  9. Anonymous says:

    Never had them but I am so happy I stumbled across this article…I will not waste my time or money! Thanks so much, Susan Gray

  10. I agree with most of your comments. I would never wear them as pictured. You commented that you would never wear an uncomfortable bra, and I have never found a strapless bra that felt comfortable. I have a dress that is lace from the shoulder blades up in the back, and I think clear straps are the best option under the lace.

  11. sophie says:

    I have a red prom dress and I don’t feel comfortable not wearing a bra what can I do ?

  12. Claire says:

    Well it seems like I am in the minority but I like the clear straps and wear them often. I am a fashion rebel though and like to wear unconventional fashions, I am sick of being preached at by so-called fashion “experts” in magazines who think they have the right to tell us what to wear, and want us all to look the same. Fashion is about individuality and expressing yourself. And that is what I do. I know most other women hate clear straps, so that just makes me more determined to wear them. Oh, the rebel in me lol.

Leave a Reply

