something about me and all.things.lady

Hey Ladies!

So I am back with a tag/award post once again… As you know I got tired of these now but I cannot resist them when they have cool questions! The last interesting one was about lipsticks and I was tagged by Mammu. You can read all about my lipsticks here. This one also has interesting questions which Sarah came up with. Thanks for the tag/award Sarah πŸ˜‰ This is her original post here.

Apparently… these are the rules, but aren’t rules made to be broken?
1. Answer the questions asked by the blog who followed you.
2. Nominate up to 20 other bloggers with less than 200 followers.
3. Create 11 questions for your nominees to answer.

These are the questions Sarah is asking us…

1. Tell me about the country, town or city you’re from?

Just like Sarah, I live in Malta. It is a small island in the middle of the Mediterranean sea where the sun and the sea are always there. Malta has very hot weather but our beaches attract many tourists and our history is incredible!

Source: betourism.com

2. What was the reason you started blogging?

Well, I followed a tonne of bloggers and I secretly wanted to do it too. I had another blog which I hardly ever blog on, marlingual. I had started that one because I wanted my voice to be heard. I wrote about education, language, life and so on. But eventually I stopped writing and while I will not remove it, I feel that all.things.lady has become more me.Β As for all.things.lady, I know that I am not a certified make up artist yet, and I know that my fashion sense is just average, but I felt that people need that. People do not only need bloggers who they can aspire to be like, they also need bloggers who can understand them and who they can relate to completely. That is what I want all.things.lady’s voice to be.

This is my baby!

3. What do you love to blog about the most?

That’s hard to say… Apparently some think I can be funny, in fact this post, where I was a tad sarcastic and mean seems to be a general favourite: Makeup choices I can’t Stand
I also like to blog about life, this one is one of my favoruites: My Take on Mistakes. This is another one I had actually written for my other blog: Why I choose to surround myself with Happy People
I also love to blog about what to wear and what not to wear, not because I like to dictate, but because even though I am not a stylist, I still believe that while one should be creative, there are still some faint rules, one could keep in mind. My latest post of this type is this one: What to wear and what not to wear to a funeral. I wasn’t sure if it was okay to post it but it was very well received and I get tonnes of daily hits from people who specifically search on search engines about what to wear to a funeral. I was also requested to write a post about what to wear to a wedding which I shall be working on in the coming weeks. I also love to write honest pieces, where I just tell my readers everything about me, good and bad, and confess to weaknesses, being serious or make up related like this one, which coincidentally was also a tag post: Beauty things I SUCK at.

4. What is your favourite make-up product?

Oh that is not an easy question. I bought so many things I already love from IMATS like the NYX Lip Cream in Shade: LONDON, the NYX Stay matte but not flat powder foundation, my new MAC lipstick in Shade:Β JIST and the MAC blusher in Cantaloupe… There’s too many. P.S. You can see my video haul of beauty stuff from London and IMATS here. But I guess that from all the things I have at home, I would probably still choose the Catrice Giant Extreme Volume Mascara which I reviewed here. HoweverΒ I will be trying some Pupa products soon and I might very well love the Vamp! Mascara just as much.

the incredible wand

5. Would you ever spend a whole week without ever using cosmetics?

Yes… If I am sick I won’t bother. There were times when I was abroad with family when I didn’t use make up everyday either. And well, if my face and skin need it, of course I will… But I’m not gonna say I will be completely happy about it. Make up does boost my confidence in general.

6. Mention something that your followers do not know about you?

I don’t think they know this, but I would love to have 3 kids in the future. Let’s say 2, but even three if life permits! I am very glad that I have found the man I want to spend the rest of my life with and I cannot wait to get engaged (sooooon… cause I heard rumours) and get married and start a life with him πŸ™‚

*Update* It did happen… Read all about the proposal here πŸ™‚

Source: bellophoto.net

7. What is your favorite hobby?

I think by time it became blogging. I am not saying this to attract readers, it’s just true. While I love to paint (see my work here and my latest piece here), I do not do it regularly. So I need something else to relax, possibly daily. That’s why I do my very best to post daily and if possible, more than once.

8. Do you have a pet?

No not really. I mean, we have a bird at home and maybe some fish (I’m not even sure!), but I do not take care of them and they are not really mine. I would love to have a teacup pig though πŸ˜€ And obviously a Shiba Inu puppy!

9. What is your favorite song of the moment?

That would have to be Suitcase by Emile Sande. Listen to it here. It just somehow makes me happy even though it’s not really a happy song. I love all of her album to be honest, namely Read All About it, Clown and Maybe

10. What suggestions would you give to other bloggers?

I actually want to write about this. First of all, don’t make me write a dozen characters to be allowed to comment! It’s not fair and it’s an extra discomfort your readers shouldn’t have to go through.
On a positive note: Β Be yourself or do something different. If you are going to review, give it your touch! Try to find a voice which is unique to you, your readers will want to come back for more if you offer something that no one else does πŸ˜‰

11. Last but not least what inspired you to name your blog?

I guess this is pretty easy. I had battled in my head a number of names and most of them were not even available. Now I cannot imagine my blog having a different name! After I started I realised it was so similar to Martina’s allthingsfabulousΒ and I felt really bad about it. In time I found out how cool Martina is and I stopped worrying πŸ˜‰

The name is clear. I do not want to limit myself to writing just about makeup. I want to be able to write about motherhood, love-life, experiences, menopause and anything I want to! It’s not all about material things… though as I say in my about me page here, “All these things will be on all.things.lady because I am a little lady too and I use these things too!”

Nominations

I am gonna break the rules of course cause I will not be nominating anyone. I follow too many blogs, to pick 20 or so out of all of them would be impossible. Besides, the people I would love to tag have already done this. So, I am going to leave it up to you… If you like the questions just do it! Leave a comment with the link so that I can then check it out πŸ˜‰ But no one needs to feel obliged and guilty to do this because of a tag.

Questions

  1. What is the reason that you blog as opposed to write a book or something else?
  2. What do you think your voice as a blogger is?
  3. What makes your blog worthy of your readers’ time? Why should they read it?
  4. What do you think is your target audience?
  5. What is your favourite movie of all time?
  6. Do you play an instrument? What instrument would you play if you had the time?
  7. What are the things you look for in a partner?
  8. What do you believe makes you a good friend?
  9. What is your favourite outfit of all? Comfy/Casual/Evening…. something else?
  10. What is the best time of day for you to blog and why?
  11. Where did you find out about all.things.lady and why do you follow/read it? πŸ˜› (Cheeky, right? πŸ™‚ )

I hope you enjoyed this post just as much as I loved writing it and thank you Sarah once again!

Love,
M.

16 comments on “something about me and all.things.lady

  1. Lady Kate says:

    Me & my Mum were just discussing how we would love to visit Malta! It looks so pretty, hopefully I will be going there next year πŸ™‚ x

  2. FreeUrCloset says:

    Awwww, #6 is sooo sweet, I just had to say it, lol.

    XOXO Nensi

  3. Mammu says:

    What, how did I miss your videos!!! I was already subscribed but gonna go look the haul now! =) We got a shiba inu to my mother-in-law when her serman shepherd passed away πŸ˜‰ They have a very strong character and she kinda ruined the dog cause she wasn’t strict enough and now he has already bitten or almost bitten some people and herself too (he wanted to attack another dog and she put her hand to stop him…..twice…..very smart :D) But if educated correctly these are awesome dogs! I love the first picture of Malta! xxx

    • marijadebono says:

      Oh I hope you like it! I sound kinda nasal πŸ˜› i’m gonna try a different camera next time round. let me know what you think of it then πŸ˜‰

      I guess if you don’t discipline them when they’re young, that’s what happens 😦

      P.S. Come to Malta with your family πŸ˜›

  4. Was there a link to some of your painting? I would love to see it! I hope to visit Malta someday, it looks incredible!

  5. Martina says:

    oh course I’m coool πŸ˜› hahaha loved it babes xx

  6. isiomastylereport says:

    I can so relate to you and the need for a blog for people that i think look, act and feel like me. It wont be perfect, but is life perfect, so inspired, keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

