Mermaid Colours Eye Look Tutorial Post

Dearest Ladies,

Today I have for you an eye look which was quite popular with my Facebook fans and was also requested by the lovely Lexania.

So here we go…

1. Primer and Foundation

Start by using a primer on your face. This will help even out the skin tone and the texture of your skin. It will help you with dryness, flakiness and so on and will create a smooth canvas for the foundation to blend on. I used the Wjcon Primer Corrective in Perfect Face (this is the white one). Wjcon also have other colours like green and purple to counteract redness, bluish tones and so on. It would be best to ask staff at Wjcon to help you out if you are unsure which one is best for you.

Then, move on to foundation. It is completely up to you what coverage you want to go for. I have been really liking light to medium coverage foundations because as summer approaches, I want less product on my skin. In fact I don’t even use concealer that much any more, as my skin has also cleared over time. Since these photos were take a while ago and I did not write the products down, I am not sure whether I used the Catrice Ultimate Moisture Fresh Skin MakeUp (which I reviewed on beautyandfitnessmalta right here) or the Catrice Photo Finish 18hr Liquid Foundation. I did not use powder because at the time my skin was getting dry in certain areas and I did not want to make it worse. These foundations I mentioned however do not really need to be set anyway.

DSCF9018

Some people choose to do eyes first and then foundation. I do that sometimes but it depends on the colours and products I use. With these colours I knew I had control and that I would not mess it up. If you are using eye dusts, you have to be more careful especially because of fall out all over the cheek area. All in all it doesn’t make any difference if everything is blended out carefully and neatly. But if you are worried that you might ruin it, just do the eyes first, clean up any fall out eye shadow and move on to foundation and the rest.

2. Eyeshadow / Eyeshadow Stick

DSCF9026Also from Wjcon, I used the eye shadow stick in #08 turquoise. These sticks are very long-lasting and can be worn alone or with other shadows. I love to use them as a base to my actual eye shadow. This time I forgot to use eyelid primer. It didn’t really matter cause I wasn’t really leaving the house and I only applied make up for the purpose of this post. Eye primer however helps your eye shadow stay in place and makes sure it does not crease. After putting the shadow stick on my eyelids, I blended it out using a regular (flat) eye shadow brush.

Now onto the eye-shadow palette I used… This one is from E.L.F. but I am afraid that it is no longer available. As such, the brand doesn’t matter as long as the colours you choose are similar and are pigmented. I started my using the minty light colour… and then moved on to the purple shadow, next to it.

DSCF9031

E.L.F. Studio Smokey Palette

Starting with the light minty colour, cover you eyelid completely. This will set your eye shadow stick and make sure it stays there.  It will also give an even colour to your lids. The sticks sometimes do not as it is harder to blend the sticks than the powdered eye shadow. Moving on… Using an angled brush (I used this one here), dip the brush in the purple shadow, tip off the excess and starting at the outer part of your eyelid (the side closest to your ear), blend it inwards into the minty colour.

First you might want to focus on packing on colour rather than blending. This is what I do, I blend the colours together when I know that I have enough of both colours on my lids. Using a crease brush or a round domed brush, blend the colours together to achieve a soft blended effect. This is a very important step to remove excess eyeshadow and to blend colours well for a softer look.

DSCF9043

Left – UNblended – Right – BLENDED OUT

3. Eyeliners, Mascara and Brows

When I feel like having some fun with colours (like I did here), I opt for a coloured eyeliner at least on one of the lids (upper or lower). For this look I used, Turquoise, Gold and Black. Using a small brush like the e.l.f. Small Smudge Brush, I picked up some colour from the same Wjcon Eye Shadow stick I used before and applied it on the bottom lash line (not on the water line) like you would with a gel liner.

DSCF9059

Wjcon Shadow Stick on bottom lash line

Then, I lined the waterline with a black eyeliner for some definition. The last step was to line the upper lash line using a gold eyeliner. I used my favourite metallic one from Wjcon #14 Gold Leaf. For a more intense look, I sometimes line my upper lash line using a black liquid eyeliner and then go over it (when dry) with the gold liner, just on top of the black liner. This is optional and it depends on the sort of look you are going for. Add 1 coat of your favourite mascara to seal the deal.

DSCF9079

Added black eyeliner on the water line and gold on the upper lash line + Mascara

Next, I filled in my brows using the essence Eyebrow Stylist Set. I did not use a clear gel on top but you can do that if your brows tend to be naughty! Add another coat of mascara to build up the length and volume of your lashes. You might want to use false eyelashes too, but I didn’t.

DSCF9087

4. Blusher, Bronzer and Highlight

Using a matte bronzer, contour your face by blending bronzer below the cheek bones and on the temples (sides of your forehead) and on the sides of your nose if you need to. A little bit of blusher to give your face a pop of colour and you are good to go. Highlighter is optional but it really does make a difference. Blend in some highlighter on the brow bone and above the cheekbone to give your face a little bit more radiance. I use the essence (liquid) I ❤ Runway Highlighter. Don’t worry if you are not sure what to do, I will plan a post specifically on contouring and highlighting in the near future.

DSCF9092 (1)

DSCF9089

Where I put Highlight (then, Blend it out!)

You’re done!

So this is the final eye look below…
DSCF9132

And this below is my first attempt of the look for one of the events from Malta Fashion Week this year… I used black eyeliner on the upper lid as well in this case, and I seemed to have a more purple concentrated look since my outfit was indeed purple.

IMG_5661

 Don’t forget to add some clear gloss or a nude lipstick to complete the look!

DSCF9106

I hope you like this look as much as I do and please do let me know if you try it out! As you can see, it’s not that hard to do and looks a bit different to your everyday make up. Feel free to comment if you have any questions or if something is till unclear 🙂
I’m more than happy to help!

P.S. You can see my London & IMATS Beauty Haul Video through this post here since there is a direct link there. I am also planning my clothes + accessories + other stuff haul soon 😉 It will probably be a video as well, so feel free to subscribe to my channel!

Do you think this is something  you would ever go for? Let me know 😉

Love,
M.

18 comments on “Mermaid Colours Eye Look Tutorial Post

  1. Lovely colours mar.. Great video btw, loved watching it!! xx

  2. bravechica says:

    Lovely Color !!!
    BraveChica.com

  3. lulusbeautyspot says:

    You look lovely, the eye makeup looks incredible! xx

  4. Mammu says:

    I love the color combo, so pretty *_* And you look beautiful with this make up! =)

  5. Lexania says:

    Aa 🙂 this is awesome 🙂 i am looking forward to try this one on 🙂 thanks dear 😀

Leave a Reply

