Lipstick Post

Hey Ladies!

Several weeks/months ago mammulikes tagged me in a post and I finally am getting down to it! I had forgotten the questions and left them unanswered in my drafts. But now, here are the questions:

How many lipsticks do you own?

20 – 19 lipsticks and 1 lipstain – I am only counting the ones which I will ever consider using.

DSCF8966 DSCF8968

Which was the first lipstick you ever bought?

My first lipstick ever was part of a kit an ex bf had given me (this is what I think about ex boyfriends by the way) I think that the first one I bought was from the e.l.f. essential line, the shade Fantasy, which is similar in colour to the one I mentioned before.

e.l.f. essentials – Fantasy

Which was the last lipstick you bought?

It has been a while, but I think it is Catrice 020 Maroon which I mentioned in my April/May Favourites here. This is a very pretty colour. At first, I thought the colour’s name was Macaroon which would have been sweet! But apparently it is called Maroon – which is nothing like what it is. It is a nude to brown shade which looks so great. Reminds me of e.l.f.’s essential lipstick in Fantasy. You can read a review for this Catrice lipstick here, written by my friend Olga from watercoloursilk.

Swatches for the mentioned Lipsticks will be at the end of the post!

What is your favourite lipstick brand?

Various, but namely Catrice for the selection of colours, texture and price.

DSCF8979

Favourite pink lipstick?

Not a pink lipstick fan, but I’d have to say, e.l.f.’s Mineral Nicely Nude, which is the only ‘pink’ lipstick I will ever wear.

DSCF8975

Favourite nude lipstick?

Definitely Catrice 010 Be Natural, which is one of the lippies I cannot stop talking about.

Catrice Ultimate Colour Lipstick in 010 Be Natural

Favourite peach-coral lipstick?

This has to be Obey by Illamasqua which I won in Stefy’s giveaway. However I still have to figure out how to make it work with my pale to olive skin tone.

DSCF8976

Coral Flair from Vivo would have to be the most corally wearable one I have but this is not peachy at all, it is quite red indeed. The one by essence in their Vintage District Limited Edition line is the perfect one for everyday use.

DSCF8977 DSCF8978

Favourite red lipstick?

While I love Rimmel’s Apocalips in Big Bang which I reviewed here, I barely ever manage to leave the house and keep it on my lips for longer than half an hour. My boyfriend always tells me “You look better in more natural colours” so I always feel self-conscious. It’s very sexy nonetheless.

Rimmel Apocalips in Big Bang

Big Bang

My most wearable red, while a tad bright, has to be Catrice 010 Lobster Love which I reviewed here.

Favourite purple lipstick?

I have no purple ones but the closest one to the colour would be e.l.f.’s Studio Matte lipstick in Tea Rose which is a lilac colour.

DSCF8980

Favourite fuchsia lipstick?

I will never have one of these. OK – I have a pink but I won’t use it on myself – I only bought it to use on clients. I also have the e.l.f. Studio HD Blush which can actually be used as a lipstain, but no, fuchsia is just a bit too much.

Favourite unusual color lipstick?

It’s not really unusual. It looks weird when swatched, almost a tad yellow, but it looks great on the lips. And it’s the one by essence in their Vintage District Limited Edition line again. It is actually a 2 in one lipstick-lipgloss type of thing. The lipstick on its own is very hydrating too!

DSCF8983

Favourite dark lipstick?

My lipsticks aren’t too dark. My darkest one has to be e.l.f.’s essential line’s Voodoo which I somehow do not find myself using that much anymore. It actually broke today while I was swatching it, along with a Vivo one which also broke 😦

Favourite texture/finish?

I prefer matte lipsticks over shiny/glossy/frosty ones. I love the Ultimate Colour ones by Catrice. I also loved the Matt Sublime ones by Wjcon. The one’s by Vivo are great too and the smell is fantastic.

Wjcon’s Sublime Matt in #601

Some of my favourite Catrice and Vivo lipsticks

Other favorites?

I think Vivo lipsticks deserve a mention. They are pretty but most of all, they smell amazing… I couldn’t quite figure out what dessert it was but then I realized it was toffee 🙂 Great, and you won’t be the only one smelling it.

2013-03-08-09-50-02

Here are the rest of the swatches of most of the lipsticks I mentioned here:
DSCF8972
P.S. Since this was a tag post, I will only be tagging Davi from Lady with no Name and Stefy from stefypuglisevich.com. Obviously, anyone who is interested in this, can go ahead and do it, even readers who do not have a blog. I would love to see your answers in the comment section. Oh and if you would like to see any of these colours on my lips, just let me know.

I don’t know, I think I am just lucky to almost always get it right when it comes to lipsticks, I know what I’ll like and I usually know what I won’t. But I’m a little bit curious now… How many lipsticks do you own? Do you usually get it right just by swatching it?

Love,
M

17 comments on “Lipstick Post

  1. Tegan Owen says:

    I have been wanting to try one of them Rimmel Apocalips, but I just can’t find them. They seam to not have any or to not have the colour I want.

  2. You have some nice lipsticks. I think, that I have around 30 different, but I don’t use them so much. I prefer the more light / neutral in daytime and the more dark for the evenings.

  3. Those are some nice colors of lipstick and I love the elf essentials voodoo more

  4. Amria says:

    This post is done like a true pro, I love it! And also all of your lipsticks. Great job, M! 😀

  5. Mammu says:

    I love that you put all the swtches too, I can see your lipstick style like that =) I would say you’re more into soft-neutral colors but that’s what suits you and no point spending money on stuff you wouldnät wear 😉 I’m glad you finally did the tag, better late than never! 😀 Have a great weekend sweetie!

  6. Louise Mifsud says:

    I love love love love the Rimmel apocalypse- cannot wait to get my hands on some of their lipsticks, esp Kate Moss… those are the only lipsticks which stays the longest on my lips 🙂 Nice blog bdw 🙂 I love the swatches ^_^

    • marijadebono says:

      I heard good things about the Kate Moss ones but don’t need any more additions at the moment 🙂 (see how much I am growing as a person? hahaha) Glad you enjoyed the post!

      • Louise Mifsud says:

        I always knew you were growing dear… but never imagined your make-up collection would 😛 😛 Am so glad you are doing this ^_^
        As for Kate Moss… I haven’t try them yet… but I tried one of the longlasting collection from Rimmel and was impressed with the result… I might blog it ^_^

  7. […] questions! The last interesting one was about lipsticks and I was tagged by Mammu. You can read all about my lipsticks here. This one also has interesting questions which Sarah came up with. Thanks for the tag/award Sarah […]

  8. […] and if you wanna check out Marija’s post, you can do so by clicking here. I suggest you do as she has some great swatches over at her lipstick […]

Leave a Reply

