Interview with an artist – Chloe Waterfield

Dear Readers,

Today I have something that is a little bit different to what I usually post! 🙂 I would like to introduce you to a friend who is also an artist. I met Chloe around 5 years ago, and we had art in common among other things (you can see my artwork by clicking here). We were in two exhibitions together, one organized by The Contemporaries and another one held in Baystreet in St.Julian’s.

Extinction’s Expression (Tasmanian Tiger)

Read the interview below to find out more about Chloe, her passion for nature, her techniques and her artwork.

  • What would you say first inspired you to become an artist?

    I was always inspired by the natural world; I grew up watching documentaries, reading books, writing stories about animals. I began to take an interest in Prehistory, in particular Palaeolithic art; art that was first created in the caves of Europe more than 35,000 years ago. This unique style is so primitive, so concealed, that I felt like this was the best source of inspiration for a much more modern and personal style of art.

  • What does your work say about you and your personal life?

    My artwork expresses my passion for peace and quiet, for a world without modern influences, devoid of technology, confusion, pollution…through my paintings I can express myself through the innocence and almost spiritual qualities of Palaeolithic art. My nine to five job is in IT and business, and so my art is as far from this as possible.

  • What different styles and techniques do you see yourself experimenting with in the future?

    I love experimenting with natural materials: stones, shells, sand, feathers…they all make for wonderfully vivid and expressive paintings. I would love to experiment with more natural materials, even painting on rocks and stones, and perhaps experimenting with bones, fossils, twigs and leaves. The possibilities are endless.

  • Do you have a specific time of day in which we are more likely to find you in your studio?

    Thanks to the nine to five working life, I’ll be found in my studio as the sun is setting; the best time of day in my opinion.

  • What is the one thing you will never tire of painting?

    I will never tire of painting the natural world: its inspiration is limitless. There is such a variety of species, so many wonderful landscapes, how could one ever tire of it? Also, in general, I will never tire of seeing the final finished result, when it is better or different than expected.

  • What is your favourite medium and why is it a favourite?

    Oil paints; they are so versatile: you can paint smooth, thick paint, and you can use a wide range of materials beneath or on top of the layers. Nothing lasts as long as an oil painting, or handles the light so well.

  • What would your typical signature piece of work feature?

    A vibrant yet condensed colour palette, bold lines, natural elements, motion. ‘The Solutrean Expression’ would be the perfect example; combining modern values with a Palaeolithic theme, focusing on motion and emotion rather than detail and accuracy.

  • Where is Chloe Waterfield Art headed to in the next 10 years?

    More exhibitions, bigger and brighter paintings. New York, London, who knows?

    Songs in Miniature

    I really like her work and I feel that even in the few years I’ve known her, her artwork and its value and quality  has grown too.
    If you want to see more from Chloe, head to her solo exhibition next month! Click here for the Facebook event page.


    Stay tuned for another interview, this time with Chloe’s boyfriend who has just published his first book!
    What an artistic couple, right?
    P.S. This is Chloe’s website: http://www.canidaeart.com/

    Until then,

    Keep surfing this blog 😉
    M

10 comments on “Interview with an artist – Chloe Waterfield

  1. Lady Kate says:

    Wow, I love these paintings! x

  2. […] I posted an interview with an artist here. Today I am back with another interview and it is a writer this time, who happens to be […]

  3. pinkpearline says:

    Wow ..so talented of her !

  4. Wow, love em paintings. That’s a beautiful post and so lovely of you to get her noticed by your readers 🙂

Leave a Reply

