Faragè Paris Bridal Show – MFW’13

Dear Readers,

As you might know, this week marks a very special week: the Malta Fashion Week (& Fashion Awards). This is the first fashion event I am attending as a blogger and it is obviously the grandest one. This year marks the 15th Anniversary of the Malta Fashion week, which Adrian Mizzi (the executive producer) referred to as “15 glorious years of fashion”.

Tonight, the fashion week started, not with a bang, but with wedding bells, which coincidentally is also the name of the bridal shop featured. Wedding Bells selected an exquisite selection of wedding gowns by Faragè Paris. The show was held at the most chic venue you could imagine, The Xara Lodge in Rabat.

The gowns showcased at the Bridal Show were the kind that would compliment one’s figure thanks to the different kinds of necklines,  levels of waistlines and detail.

IMG_4654 IMG_4671 The selection was varied from strapless, to one-shoulder pieces, cap sleeves and even 3/4 delicate sleeves. There really was something for everyone and for women of every shape. Something I admired was that while some models were very slender, others, while having a beautiful figure nonetheless, were not the usual size zero model. This helped the audience appreciate that even though these dresses are couture, they are very wearable, even from women who do not have the traditionally desired catwalk silhouette…

These dresses are also made for real women, like us.

IMG_4765 IMG_4788 IMG_4732

The details varied from feathers to delicate lace to see-through material and Swarovski crystals which complimented the whole ‘classically elegant but refreshing’ vibe the venue had going on. What caught my eye was the impeccable detail the laced pieces had. I admired the leaf detail rather than the usual focus on the flowers. I felt that this accent had something new to give to the rather old ‘always in style’ lace trend. This made the gowns below, particularly memorable for me and for every other hopeful bride-to-be in the audience.

IMG_4801 (1)

One of my favourite 3 pieces in the whole collection…IMG_4694IMG_4703

Last but not least, (actually I’m leaving the best for last…), this mind-blowing elegant gown which also featured a gorgeous delicate laced veil which made the dress so tastefully beautiful. All in all, the majority of the dresses where white with one-offs in ivory or cream. I was surprised we did not see any lilacs or any other pastels, but then again, they weren’t really missed.

IMG_4743 IMG_4747

Photo by: ML photography - www.mlaudiphotography.com

Photo by: ML photography – http://www.mlaudiphotography.com

Another thing I wanted to mention is how very talented all of the models were. Their faces gleamed and they all fooled us into thinking they were really walking down the aisle for a second there! They were all very comfortable in their dresses, or well, they managed to act as if they were and some of them were really expressive. It really showed that they were enjoying every second on the shining white catwalk.

Photographer Dennis Calleja - www.denniscalleja.com

Photographer Dennis Calleja – http://www.denniscalleja.com

Photographer Dennis Calleja - www.denniscalleja.com

Photographer Dennis Calleja – http://www.denniscalleja.com

Photographer Dennis Calleja - www.denniscalleja.com

Photographer Dennis Calleja – http://www.denniscalleja.com

Photographer Dennis Calleja - www.denniscalleja.com

Photographer Dennis Calleja – http://www.denniscalleja.com

This event was supported by Wedding Bells, Infinitely Xara, Nescafe Dolce Gusto, Alistair Floral Design and Hansa Wines & Spirits. Hair byPrive, Makeup by Elaine Galea and flower bouquets by Alistar the Florist.

The event was a heavenly experience and I must say, being on the first row, just next to the catwalk was the best thing ever. I enjoyed the night with my fellow beauty and fashion bloggers and look forward to tomorrow’s show featuring Spring/Summer 2014 “Feast Patterns” by Charles & Ron.

Until then, which one of these would you say is your favourite?

P.S. For more of my photos click here!

Love,
M.

17 comments on “Faragè Paris Bridal Show – MFW’13

  1. Mammu says:

    Lucky you =) I like the second dress with a lace back and the one with a bow behind 😉

  2. marijadebono says:

    Reblogged this on marlingual and commented:

    My overview of a magical night… The Bridal Show at the Malta Fashion Week!

  3. […] Yesterday I attended my first fashion show ever, which happened to be the Bridal Show for the Malta Fashion Week. The show featured a selection of lovely, delicate wedding gowns by Faragè Paris. You can read my detailed review and see photos of my favourite pieces here. […]

  4. Anthea Turner says:

    Ooooo the visions in white in pictures 2, 4 & 6 are my favourite. So classy & elegant yet modern & sexy …. Lucky you

  5. Stunning dresses, makes me want to be a bride lol

    Steph
    http://www.thinklovemakeup.com

  6. […] Just wanted to let you know that a while back I opened a YouTube Channel which until today was empty… but now has 3 minutes of the catwalk display, last night at the Bridal Show. (read about it here) […]

  7. Dee Shore says:

    I love the lace trend. You can’t go wrong with it. It’s elegant, and romantic.

  8. […] am back with new shots! Followed by the stunning Bridal Show which I wrote about here, yesterday there was the much awaited Charles & Ron show. Charles & Ron are very talented […]

  9. […] I have a feeling that I will be back for more! I absolutely adored the Bridal Show (more about it here) and yesterday’s explosion of colours by Charles & Ron was also enjoyable (more about it […]

  10. […] to the terrace where the catwalk was set up, just like it was in the Bridal show (read about it here). I was glad to see Charles & Ron (see their show here) where there to checkout the new […]

  11. […] I enjoyed most during this years Fashion Week is how wearable the items displayed were, even at the Bridal Show or at the Charles & Ron Show. The first bag is something I could imagine myself carrying my […]

Leave a Reply

