Beauty Things I Suck At (tag post)

Hey Ladies!

So the lovely Olga from watercoloursilk tagged me in a post. I am glad this post is different.  I want. I’m gonna do this as a sort of confession sort of way. Ever since I started this blog, I have been trying lots of new products, have been paying a lot more attention to how they perform and have tried to use different brands. Today I will confess to you all the things I still have no idea how to do properly…

  1. A proper, SYMMETRIC winged eyeliner 

    I can do the wing alright. But then, how do you make the other one as thick and at the same angle? It baffles me every time that after all this time, I still have no idea how to do this.

    HOW?!

  2.  Detailed eye shadow 

    Ever since I invested in some brushes, I have actually started using eyeshadow, and not just black eye shadow. It may come as a shock to you but that was a huge step. So yes, I can sort of do a smoky eye… I can blend out different colours but that’s pretty much it. I have no idea where to begin to do a detailed eye shadow with a transitional colour that is visible and so on. I am no Saman from colourobsession. She is so talented, I’m curious if there is anything she cannot do! (Pssst, you’re tagged Saman)

    Cant’ do it.

  3. Letting nail polish dry 

    I am actually quite good on both hands when painting my nails. And I am patient! But many a time I look at them and they look dry… and I just check… and OOPS!

    Tick Tock…

  4. Missing spots when blending concealer 

    Haha I actually do this… I usually put concealer on all of my blemishes and spots and such. And they I blend them and I always start from my T-Zone. But when I have spots that I do not usually hide, I sometimes forget they were there. So then when I am blending or buffing foundation, I find this untouched concealer blob!

  5. Shaving my legs 

    This is funny and annoying. I use shaving cream and so and I sit in the shower to make sure I see my legs well. I don’t cut myself, not anymore. But even after checking, I go out of the shower and find that I left 3 full length hairs! Or a section which is still in tact 😛 Pretty and stylish indeed!

    Almost, every, time.

  6. Curl my hair 

    I have a curling iron…  But it’s old so I don’t use it anymore because I am sure that it is horrible on the hair, no protection whatsoever. And I have a straightener and apparently people curl their hair with a straightener. I just cannot do this. Never. I tried a couple of times and I gave up. So my hair will be straight till the day I die.

    Say WHAT?!

  7. Fake a bigger lip 

    Some people know how to line around their lips neatly to make their lips look bigger and fuller. I can do this only on 1 half of my cupid’s bow. It will never be symmetric, pretty much like winged eyeliner. So I just stick to my naturally tiny lips!

    Can’t do it either.

  8. False eyelashes 

    My eyelids are small. Tiny even. Smaller than most false eyelashes. How the hell do you stick these?! I saw tonnes of tutorial and I still cannot do it. I guess my last chance is to cut the lashes and try to stick them in halves. We’ll see how that goes.

    Mission Impossible

  9. Braids 

    They’re cute. I know how to do the regular braids. No french twists or anything like that. But I can only do a tiny one in an area I can see and manage completely. So if you ever see me wearing a ponytail braid, it’s not my doing.

    In my dreams

  10. Flick out my hair 

    I cannot do this if my life depended on it. I usually straighten my hair spaghetti straight and I like it, but most of the time I need my fringe to be a little flicked or twisted in some way. How? How?!

    Just like Meredith’s. Not more…

Or like Hillary’s…

I guess that’s all but I’m sure there’s more!

I am tagging:
Maria from http://amriaa.wordpress.com/
Kate from http://intothestratosphere.wordpress.com/
fairy666tale from http://fairytalebeautyandlife.wordpress.com/
Kari from http://myfabulousfrugallife.com/
Davi from http://ladywithnoname.wordpress.com/

and Saman! (like I mentioned before) and anyone else who wants to give it a go!

What CAN’T you do? Are there any of these you can’t do either? Please let me know, I hate feeling like such a loser 😛

Love,
M

26 comments on “Beauty Things I Suck At (tag post)

  1. I really like this post, it is very interesting because some of them like leaving a spot and the how to apply eyelashes are the same things that I face with them every time I do my make up. Keep it up with your amazing post 🙂

  2. Amria says:

    this looks so fun ! thanks for tagging me honey! I forgot a couple of times to shave one of my legs, and one time I was going away for the weekend 😀 And a trick for nail polish to dry faster: put your fingers in ice cold water (from the fridge) for 5 minutes and when you take them out the nail polish will be dry 😀

    • marijadebono says:

      Yes I heard that actually! Strange but I guess it works! 🙂 I never forgot 1 complete leg though 😛 hahah 🙂 Looking forward to read yours, though I doubt there is anything you can’t do! 😉

  3. thinklovemakeup says:

    🙂 I find getting the winged liner even on my self difficult and im a MUA as you look at your face differently one side from another. When looking at another person you can see them properly. Does that make sense?

    The trick is to use an angled brush and a gel liner. Like that it is easier to mark out the lines 🙂
    Steph xXx

  4. fairy666tale says:

    Nice post, it’s always nice to know you’re not the only one who has issues with some beauty things 😉
    With braiding, it might help to look at tutorials on youtube where people make braids on the back of their head, and then try to hold your hands in the same position as they do. That’s the way I learned it, although french braids are still difficult to get to look neat.
    Thanks for tagging me, that’ll be a fun post to write!

  5. pinkpearline says:

    aww this is such a fun post ! haha trust me there are so much things you have mentioned in above post I can also never do.. Lovely ! I will write a tag post too. I admire so many lovely bloggers ere. Thanks for tagging me. Love it !!

  6. pinkpearline says:

    This is such a fun post !! haha loved reading it ! Thanks for the tag and trust me there are so many things you have mentioned I cant do these also 😛 lovely post. I will write one soon. I admire so many lovely bloggers here ! thanks again 🙂 This means a lot to me 🙂

  7. bohocadence says:

    This is quite funny post, but i realized, that there are quite a lot of things i don`t know how to do. I know, that there will be a time in our lives, when we somehow will learn these mysterious things ;D

  8. I like yours!!

    Hey, have you heard: “A woman is only helpless when she’s waiting for nail polish to dry”? 😉 I hate that feeling of not being to do what I want, because I’m waiting for nails to dry properly. Quick dry coat helps, but it’s not a miracle solution.

    Hehe, the shaving one – happens all the time!

  9. […] it for now. Check out Marija’s version of this post (the lovely lady who tagged me) over here.  Her’s is illustrated with […]

  10. lulusbeautyspot says:

    hi sweetie, I tagged you to do the I heart spring tag! xx lulu
    http://lulusbeautyspot.wordpress.com/2013/04/05/i-%E2%99%A1-spring-tag-lulus-beauty-spot/

  11. […] was recently “tagged” in a post by the lovely Mari Jade of all.things.lady.  From what I understand, this is an opportunity for bloggers to write freely about whatever they […]

  12. […] That’s hard to say… Apparently do think I can be funny, in fact this post, where I was a tad sarcastic and mean seems to be a general favourite: Makeup choices I can’t Stand I also like to blog about life, this one is one of my favoruites: My Take on Mistakes. This is another one I had actually written for my other blog: Why I choose to surround myself with Happy People I also love to blog about what to wear and what not to wear, not because I like to dictate, but because even though I am not a stylist, I still believe that while one should be creative, there are still some faint rules, one could keep in mind. My latest post of this type is this one: What to wear and what not to wear to a funeral. I wasn’t sure if it was okay to post it but it was very well received and I get tonnes of daily hits from people who specifically search on search engines about what to wear to a funeral. I was also requested to write a post about what to wear to a wedding which I shall be working on in the coming weeks. I also love to write honest pieces, where I just tell my readers everything about me, good and bad, and confess to weaknesses, being serious or make up related like this one, which coincidentally was also a tag post: Beauty things I SUCK at. […]

Leave a Reply

