Eyeliners Vs. Other Eyeliners

Hey Ladies!

I hope the weekend is treating you well!

So last week, one of you dearest readers asked me to do a post about eyeliners and maybe compare them. I was very glad to do this and I looked all over my make up stash to find all the eyeliners that I own.

These are all I found. I knew I had a blue one from Missha which I couldn’t find but it wasn’t any good anyway. I should have another 2 or three from MUA but the package still hasn’t got here yet and to be honest I am getting very impatient since I ordered in January.

IMG_4038

These are all of them… Ranging from gel/cream, liquid, pencil and kohl. I will give a short review of them here before actually trying to ruin them with water etc…

  1. e.l.f. Studio Cream Eyeliner in Black
    Brilliant eye liner. Stays there, completely waterproof.
  2. e.l.f. Studio Cream Eyeliner in Midnight
    Not pigmented enough. Hard in consistency, was pretty dry before I even used it.
  3. essence liquid eyeliner in Waterproof
    Not impressed. A nice applicator but this one peels off.
  4. Rimmel Liquid eyeliner
    My first liquid eyeliner ever. Still hasn’t dried up, thin brush. Brush is a bit too flimsy especially for first time users. Not easiest to apply.
  5. essence long-lasting eyeliner in 01 Black Fever
    My favourite day-to-day eyeliner. I mentioned this in my top 10 products.
  6. essence long-lasting eyeliner in 02 Hot Chocolate
    A nice dense colour. However, this eyeliner keeps breaking in 5mm bits, I have wasted half of it already.
  7. Catrice Precision eye pencil in 060 Khakitoo
    A nice dense colour but doesn’t really show up as green. Unless I tell you, you’d think I’m wearing black eyeliner.
  8. Elle Cosmetics eyeliner in Teal
    Lovely colour. Does smudge a bit, looks weird when it smudges under the lower lash line.
  9. Maybelline Expression Kajal in Black 33
    Horrible eyeliner. I got it for free and thank god I didn’t pay for it. This eyeliner disappears.
  10. Pupa eyeliner
    An average good eyeliner with a normal staying power.
  11. Elle Cosmetics eyeliner in Black
    An average good eyeliner with a normal staying power.
  12. Missha eyeliner in White
    Barely visible, very hard in texture. I used to use this on the waterline.

Here are the numbered swatches:

IMG_4039

I will now show what happened when I tried to ruin the swatches with my finger, with water and with a cleansing wipe, to test out the staying power of the products.

IMG_4044

After smudging eyeliner with my finger…

IMG_4048

After swaying water across the swatches…

IMG_4050

After 1 swipe with an exfoliating make up remover wipe…

Bottom line:

The most long-lasting eyeliners are gel or liquid waterproof eyeliners. They are also the hardest to remove and possibly the hardest to apply for some people. They are not mistake proof and need a bit of patience to clean up if you make a mess.

Pencil eyeliners tend to be more smudgy but they give a softer look. Easily smudged to compliment a smoky eye effect. Not extremely hard to remove. Pencil eyeliners can be used on both upper and lower lash lines. I tried using gel on the bottom lash line too and it works well. Colour eyeliners can be fun to use.

Enough about eyeliners now! I hope you found this post useful and that you now know what to go for depending on your needs. Please do ask me for topics you would like me to write about. I love writing  about things you ask me to write about. I had done this also with my top 5 perfumes here.

P.S. Don’t forget to enter my giveaway here before it closes!

Have a great Saturday!

Love,
M

6 comments on “Eyeliners Vs. Other Eyeliners

  1. Roberta says:

    Thank you!! 🙂

  2. Pauline says:

    A very helpful and informative post! 🙂 Well done and keep it up! x x

  3. Daniela says:

    I agree with you about eyeliner 05 but I like eyeliner 03.. it never peeled off. Very informative 🙂 xxx

Leave a Reply

