e.l.f. Brushes Review

Ladies,

As I have been promising you, this is my review for e.l.f. brushes! I have both studio brushes and essential (professional) line brushes. On the whole I prefer the Studio line. They are softer, they are synthetic and have sleeker, longer black handles. However I do think that the professional eye brushes are quite good and in some cases better.

I’ll be showing you the brushes and comparing them in terms of size and possible use. Be prepared, this post is picture heavy! I have tried and used all of the brushes which I’ll be mentioning.

(P.S. If you’d like to see a larger version of the picture, you can just click on the picture itself )

1.  Studio Complexion Brush

IMG_3419

IMG_3422

This is one of my favourite brushes… It wasn’t at first, I actually hardly used it before. But then I discovered it and I haven’t stopped using it since! It is great, and you can read my full review for it here. I used it by coincidence when my Studio Powder Brush needed to be washed.

2. Studio Powder Brush

IMG_3398

This was one of my favourite brushes from e.l.f. and from the Studio line. It is a flat top brush and I had two of these. I used to use one for my foundation (as it gives an air brushed look), and the other one for powder application. It’s still a great brush to own, but lately I haven’t been reaching for it that much. Truth is, I’ve been reaching for my Real Techniques brushes more often now.

3. Studio Blush Brush

IMG_3396

This is quite a good blush brush. The bristles are very soft and perfect to blend out your blusher.  In my opinion, it is a good size for a blush brush, not too big, not too small. However, some might feel that it is a bit too small for them. It is also good for giving only a hue of colour or for bronzer application.

4. Studio Angled Blush Brush

IMG_3423

I really like this brush. It was one of my first Studio brushes along with the powder one. I bought it specifically because it is angled and I really do like it for both blusher and contouring. However, since it is quite dense, it does create a bit of a line that you would then need to carefully blend out. I hardly use it for blusher though, I think it is just perfect for contouring.

5. Studio Angled Foundation Brush

IMG_3399

I don’t reach for this brush that often, I am not a big fan of foundation brushes. I only picked this brush up by mistake one time for contouring  and it did a good job of that, especially on the sides of the nose, since it is very thin. It’s a bit more thin than the regular foundation brushes, but if you usually like this type of brush, you will probably like this one.

I like to keep this one clean and use it when I am out of clean brushes 😉 It’s great for that purpose. I also like to use it to build coverage when using a tinted moisturizer instead of a foundation.

6. Studio Fan Brush

IMG_3411

Truth be told this is not an amazing brush… It is designed to fan out fallout eye shadow, and well it does that, but I don’t think it’s a miracle maker. I do use it, and I sometimes also use it to blend eyeshadow to a softer hue – I think it’s actually better at that than to clean up fallout.

7. Professional Total Face Brush

IMG_3434

This isn’t a bad brush to use for powder. But once you’ve tried the studio line, especially the face brushes, you won’t go back to this. It’s an alright brush but the Studio powder brush or complexion brush are so much softer. I don’t use this anymore and in my opinion, if you are getting a face brush, go for the studio line.

8. Professional Powder Brush

IMG_3435

First of all, this brush is too small to use for powder. And again, the studio brushes are much softer. It might be useful for adding highlight or a little bit of blusher maybe, but other than that, I cannot think of another use for this brush.

9. Studio Contour Brush

IMG_3391

This is a nice small round domed brush. It’s perfect for blending out eye shadow. The bristles being more sturdy (but softer) than those of the Professional Blending Brush – but other than that it is identical to it. Since it is a bit more sturdy, it could be more useful if you are doing more detailed work.

10. Professional Blending Brush

IMG_3392

It’s a good brush and I tend to reach out for it every time I apply eye shadow. It barely ever sheds and blends out eye shadow nicely into other colours. This is how it looks compared to the Studio Contour Brush.

IMG_3388

11. Professional Eye Crease Brush

IMG_3402

This brush is the same as the blending brush but a tad smaller. It fits perfectly in your crease for applying an accent colour of a darker colour for a dramatic effect. It’s a very good brush to own.

This is how it (left) looks, compared to the Professional Blending Brush (right):
IMG_3403

12. Studio Eyeshadow ‘C’ Brush

IMG_3393

I like this brush, it is very soft and gentle on the lids. The only thing that I don’t get is why it has to be so big. I have very small eyes, so a smaller brush would be better for me. Other than that, it is a perfectly good brush and picks up a good amount of colour.

13. Professional Eyeshadow Brush

IMG_3395

This is a good brush for packing on colour on your lids. I prefer its’ size to the studio one. It doesn’t shed except for when you’re washing it and it is dense enough to have enough colour transfer from your palette to your lid.

This is what it looks like compared to the Studio Eyeshadow ‘C’ Brush:

IMG_3385

14. Professional Smudge Brush

IMG_3416

This is an ‘okay’ brush but I tend to reach for it less often than the others. It is basically a shorter version of the Professional Eye shadow Brush and is designed to help you smudge out eyeliner or darker tones on the lash line for a smoky effect. To be honest, I don’t think this is as good as the other brushes and it’s not that useful. I wouldn’t really repurchase this.

This is what it looks like compared to the Professional Eye shadow Brush.

IMG_3417

15. Studio Concealer Brush

IMG_3401

I am not a fan of Concealer brushes. Call me messy but I prefer blending concealer with my ring finger. If I use a brush I’ll end up getting stripy results and will smudge it out with my finger anyway, so I might as well do that from the start. True, my technique might be lacking but I never used this for concealer. It’s good brush and you can easily use it as an eye shadow brush instead.

16. Studio Small Angled Brush

IMG_3406

This is the only brush I reach for everyday. I’ve tried it with gel liner before and it makes gel eyeliner application rather easy and gives you a precise straight line without having to struggle.

I don’t use it for gel liner anymore though. I use it to fill in my brows and it is just the perfect size and has the perfect angle for me. My suggestion is: get it.

17. Studio Small Smudge Brush

IMG_3404

This brush is so tiny! I was always scared to put eye shadow on the lower lash line, but this makes it a lot easier without risking getting eye shadow in your eyes. It is a good brush, but it is not a must have unless you do detailed work. It can also double as a brow brush (to fill them in with), but I still prefer the angled one for that.

18. Studio Small Precision Brush

IMG_3408

This one is a few millimeters wider than the Studio Small Smudge Brush. Truth be told, I can hardly see the differences especially if I’m in a hurry. Their uses are pretty much the same. This one could double as a lip brush since it is a tad bigger.

This is how they look next to each other, I think you have to know that they are different to notice the difference:

IMG_3410

19. Professional Defining Eye Brush

IMG_3407

This brush is an ‘okay’ brush. I used to use it at the far end of my eyes to create a crisp line. The only thing is that it is not very sturdy, so it is not good enough for that purpose. Most of the time I use it to pack on colour or blend nowadays.

20. Studio Retractable Lip Brush

IMG_3428

IMG_3430

The last brush for this post is the Studio Retractable Lip Brush. It is a very good and sturdy brush and I love the packaging. It is very small and travel friendly.

I bought most of my Studio Brushes in a set, when e.l.f. was running a 50% off. The only 2 studio brushes I showed you that aren’t in the 11 piece brush set are the Angled Blush Brush and the Retractable Lip Brush. The set comes in a waterproof pouch which holds all the brushes (and some others you might have). This is what the set looks like:

IMG_3365

IMG_3441

All in all, e.l.f. brushes are great and definitely worth a try especially for beginners. Remember, e.l.f. runs offers all the time, so if you were thinking about it, wait for an offer and get them for half the price 😉

P.S. Don’t forget to take care of your brushes and wash them regularly. This is how I do it.

Have a good evening ladies!

Love,

M.

10 comments on “e.l.f. Brushes Review

  1. pinkpearline says:

    I got elf brushes in my very first order from elf in 2011. I love the professional.blendind and eyeshadow brush. Thanx for the review, I ll get some if studio brushes soon.

  2. lollclarke says:

    Thanks for putting the link to this post on my blog, it’s brilliant!
    I definitely need to try the studio line, the look great.
    I know what you mean about bloody fan brushes. USELESS.
    :)~Loll X

  3. Thanks for putting this post up, I agree about the concealer brushes, I find the studio concealer brush a bit too harsh on my skin but never thought to use it for eyeshadow! xoxo

    • Glad you found my post useful 🙂 🙂 I always prefer using my fingers when applying concealer. And well it makes sense to put concealer brushes to good use when they’re part of a set 😉

  4. […] 7. E.L.F Cosmetics Powder Brush £3.95 – Despite the name, this anti bacterial, synthetic brush can be used to apply wet or dry cosmetics (who knew?) A must-have for the MakeUpAlleys. Read a full review from @marijadebono here. […]

  5. […] I love my e.l.f. brushes (I’ve written all about them here), I think I prefer the Real Techniques brushes as I have never had any shedding and I have had them […]

Leave a Reply

