Striped Nails in 5 Simple Steps!

Dearest Readers,

This is my very first tutorial. It’s a simple way of making your nails look stylish without having to leave the house.

All you need is:

  • A dark nail polish
  • A light nail polish
  • Striping tape
  • A good top coat

These are the products I used (excluding the striping tape):

DSCF7434

Left to right:
Essence Nail Polish Remover
Essence Colour and Go Nail Polish in shade 113 do you speak love?
Catrice Ultimate Nudes Nail Polish in shade 040 Petit Four As Dessert
Essence Quick Dry topcoat

Start by removing your old nail polish. I use the essence acetone free nail polish remover’ because it doesn’t dry up my nails like other nail polish removers do.

Step 1. Paint your nails in the dark nail polish colour of your choice and wait for it to dry. I used ‘Essence Colour and Go Nail Polish’ in shade ‘113 do you speak love?’.

DSCF7393

Step 2. Cut small pieces of striping tape and place them carefully on your nails. Adjust them while you can – if you’re doing a design with parallel lines like I am you can very easily mess up the whole thing… I find that it is easier if you start placing the tape at the cuticle of the nail outwards. This task is a bit time consuming but only until you get the hang of it. Press the tape with your fingers to make sure that they are stuck, this prevents ‘colour leaks’.

DSCF7405

DSCF7406

Step 3. Paint your nails using the light nail polish colour of your choice and go over the tape as if it weren’t there. I used ‘Catrice Ultimate Nudes Nail Polish in shade 040 Petit Four As Dessert’,  which I mentioned in my top ten post.

DSCF7297

DSCF7413

Step 4. Before the polish dries, pull the tape off carefully. You can also use a pair of tweezers if you want to. Wait for the polish to dry before moving on to the last step.

DSCF7414

Step 5. Put a clear top coat over everything to seal the colours. I used ‘Essence Quick Dry topcoat’.
DSCF7430

You’re done! Just clean up any ‘mess’ you might have on the sides of your nails using a cotton bud dipped in nail polish remover and you’re good to go.

P.S. You can get striping tape off ebay. There are tons of great deals. I got 22 rolls (different colours) for under 3 euros – it will last me a lifetime! Another way of using striping tape is to use it as a sticker (do not remove it). That’s why there are different colours. It does peel off really quickly, even after a hot shower or if you run your fingers through your hair… It can be a bit frustrating and that is why I chose this method, at least until I own a killer top coat.

DSCF7420

Ta daaaaa!

Do you like this NOTD? Will you be trying it out? 😉

Love,
M.

(This post was also on my other blog marlingual.)

6 comments on “Striped Nails in 5 Simple Steps!

  1. Must Have Boxes says:

    You make it look so easy! I’ll have to try this out.

    – KW
    musthaveboxes.com

  2. youngforgood says:

    Nice and easy. Looks really good 🙂 Thanks

  3. […] I tried using it on my gel nails way back, you can see them here. I also explained how to use tape here and also here. What do you think? Did you ever try striping […]

  4. Anonymous says:

    Ok real talk. You need to go to a professional to get your nails done because whatever you’ve been doing is not working. Your nails look messy and whatever concoction you’ve made that you think is creative, it doesn’t matter because your base is all over the place. WHY is there nail polish on your skin? Please, stop. It is truly, quite awful looking. I was only googling essence nail polish and saw your thumbnail and only clicked on it because its one of the worst manicures I’ve ever seen in my life.

Leave a Reply

